Scientists get their first look into how bacteria construct a slimy biofilm fortress
Oct. 18, 2016

Princeton researchers have for the first time revealed the mechanics of how bacteria build up slimy masses, called biofilms, cell by cell. When encased in biofilms in the human body, bacteria are a thousand times less susceptible to antibiotics, making certain infections, such as pneumonia, difficult to treat and potentially lethal.  


Bassler elected to National Academy of Medicine
Oct. 18, 2016

Bonnie Bassler, Princeton University's Squibb Professor of Molecular Biology and department chair, was one of 79 new members elected to the National Academy of Medicine. Bassler is Princeton's 10th current academy member. Academy membership is considered…

2016 Molecular Biology Retreat Awards
Oct. 9, 2016

Molecular Biology graduate students were presented with this year's department awards at the Annual Retreat on October 7th.


Donia receives 2016 Kenneth Rainin Foundation Breakthrough Award
Oct. 5, 2016

Molecular Biology Assistant Professor Mohamed Abou Donia has been chosen for a 2016 Breakthrough Award by the Kenneth Rainin Foundation for his work on IBD and Crohn's Disease.

New method identifies protein-protein interactions on basis of sequence alone (PNAS)
Oct. 4, 2016

Researchers have used mathematical analysis to figure out whether two proteins interact with each other, just by looking at their sequences and without having to train their computer model using any known examples. 

Petry and Toettcher receive 2016 NIH Director's New Innovator Award
Oct. 4, 2016

Molecular Biology Assistant Professors Sabine Petry and Jared Toettcher are both recipients of a 2016 NIH Director's New Innovator Award. 

FACULTY AWARD: Five Princeton professors among inaugural HHMI-Simons Faculty Scholars
Sept. 23, 2016

Five Princeton University faculty members have been selected as inaugural faculty scholars by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the Simons Foundation and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Yibin Kang Named to Inaugural Class of Few-Glasson Society
Aug. 24, 2016

A former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, a Duke sociologist who has given decades of service and millions of dollars to the university, and a researcher tackling the most common cause of cancer death will be the first inductees into the Duke Graduate School Few-Glasson Alumni Society.

The society recognizes graduates of the school…

Faculty Award: Bassler receives Max Planck Research Award
Aug. 24, 2016

Bassler was recognized for her "major role in the discovery that Earth’s most ancient unicellular organisms communicate with one another via chemical signalling molecules," a process known as quorum sensing.

Alexei Korennykh named a 2016 Vallee Foundation Young Investigator
Aug. 15, 2016

Associate Professor Alexei Korennykh is a recipient of the Bert L and N Kuggie Vallee Foundation 2016 Young Investigator Award. The Vallee Foundation seeks originality, innovation, and pioneering work by men and women who are dedicated to understanding fundamental biological processes.

Cristea becomes next President of the American Human Proteome Organization
Aug. 11, 2016

Professor Ileana Cristea has been elected as the next President of the American Human Proteome Organization (US-HUPO).

Alexander Ploss receives 2016 Burroughs Wellcome Award
June 30, 2016

Assistant Professor Alexander Ploss was selected as a recipient of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infections Disease (PATH) Award for 2016.

Scoliosis linked to disruptions in spinal fluid flow
June 10, 2016

A new study in zebrafish suggests that irregular fluid flow through the spinal column brought on by gene mutations is linked to a type of scoliosis that can affect humans during adolescence.

WWS Reacts: How Will Funding Help in the Fight Against Zika?
June 6, 2016

The Senate voted last week to advance $1.1 billion in emergency funding to help fight the spread of Zika, a mosquito-borne virus that is particularly harmful to pregnant women.

Eight Fellowships awarded to Molecular Biology
April 28, 2016

Eight fellowships were awarded to Molecular Biology postdoctoral fellows, Jia Peng, Qiang Ding, Matthew Niepielko, Heath Johnson, Rachel Kadzik, and Angela Mitchell; graduate student, Alexander Goglia; and former postdoctoral fellow, Rumela Chakrabarti.