Zakian elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Grants, Fellowships and Awards
Posted on April 17, 2019

Princeton faculty members Virginia Zakian, Kathryn Edin, Brian Kernighan, Sara McLanahan and Judith Weisenfeld, as well as visiting research scholar Candis Callison, have been elected to the Academy of Arts and Sciences. Also elected are Princeton alumni Michelle Obama, former first lady of the United States and a member of the Class of 1985, and Mitchell Daniels Jr., Class of 1971, former governor of Indiana and president of Purdue University. 

They are among more than 200 leaders in academia, the arts, business, government and public affairs elected this year in recognition of their respective fields. They will be inducted at a ceremony in October in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Zakian is the Harry C. Wiess Professor in the Life Sciences and professor of molecular biology. Her research concerns DNA replication and chromosome structure, telomeres, and replication fork progression. She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2018.

Outside the lab, she is known for her many efforts to support and promote women and underrepresented minorities in science. Zakian will transfer to emeritus status at the end of the 2018-19 academic year.

Founded in 1780, the academy honors exceptional scholars, leaders, artists and innovators and engages them in sharing knowledge and addressing challenges facing the world. The academy’s projects and publications generate ideas and offer recommendations to advance the public good in the arts, citizenship, education, energy, government, the humanities, international relations, science and more.