FACULTY AWARD: Five Princeton professors among inaugural HHMI-Simons Faculty Scholars

Written by
Office of Communications, Princeton University, Staff
Sept. 23, 2016

Molecular Biology faculty and associated faculty

Five Princeton University faculty members have been selected as inaugural faculty scholars by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the Simons Foundation and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Selected as HHMI-Simons Faculty Scholars were Clifford Brangwynne, an assistant professor of chemical and biological engineeringMartin Jonikas, an assistant professor of molecular biology; and Coleen Murphy, professor of molecular biology and the Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative GenomicsMala Murthy, an associate professor of molecular biology and the Princeton Neuroscience Institute, and Celeste Nelson, professor of chemical and biological engineering, were named HHMI Faculty Scholars. They are among 84 early-career scientists from 43 American institutions to receive the five-year grants, which total about $83 million.