Bassler and Silverman win 2021 Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize

Department Announcement
Posted on January 27, 2021

Bonnie Bassler and Mike Silverman will receive the 2021 Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize, which is endowed with 120,000 €. Bassler is the Squibb Professor and Chair of the Department of Molecular Biology at Princeton and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator. Mike Silverman is Emeritus Professor of the Agouron Institute in La Jolla. The two researchers are honored for their ground-breaking discoveries concerning bacterial "quorum sensing," which refers to sophisticated systems of cell-to-cell communication that bacteria use to coordinate group behaviors. The award ceremony in St. Paul's Church, which is traditionally held on March 14, Paul Ehrlich’s birthday, has been postponed due to the Coronavirus pandemic. Instead, Bassler and Silverman will receive the award at the ceremony in 2022.