• October 27, 2016

    Max Wilson, a postdoctoral research associate in Princeton University's Department of Molecular Biology, has received a $50,000 Innovation Grant from the New Jersey Health Foundation to advance two projects aimed at controlling cell behavior to improve treatments for a wide range of diseases.

    Grants, Fellowships and Awards
  • October 18, 2016

    Bonnie Bassler, Princeton University's Squibb Professor of Molecular Biology and department chair, was one of 79 new members elected to the National Academy of Medicine. Bassler is Princeton's 10th current academy member. Academy membership is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine, and recognizes outstanding achievements and commitment. The new members were announced Oct. 17 at the academy's annual meeting.

  • Simulation of the bacteria Vibrio cholerae forming a biofilm
    October 18, 2016

    Princeton researchers have for the first time revealed the mechanics of how bacteria build up slimy masses, called biofilms, cell by cell. When encased in biofilms in the human body, bacteria are a thousand times less susceptible to antibiotics, making certain infections, such as pneumonia, difficult to treat and potentially lethal.  

  • Allison Hall with advisor Professor Mark Rose
    October 9, 2016

    Molecular Biology graduate students were presented with this year's department awards at the Annual Retreat on October 7th.


    Grants, Fellowships and Awards
  • Sabine Petry and Jared Toettcher
    October 4, 2016

    Molecular Biology Assistant Professors Sabine Petry and Jared Toettcher are both recipients of a 2016 NIH Director's New Innovator Award. 

    Grants, Fellowships and Awards
  • Bonnie Bassler
    August 24, 2016

    Bassler was recognized for her "major role in the discovery that Earth’s most ancient unicellular organisms communicate with one another via chemical signalling molecules," a process known as quorum sensing.

    Grants, Fellowships and Awards
  • Yibin Kang
    August 24, 2016

    A former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, a Duke sociologist who has given decades of service and millions of dollars to the university, and a researcher tackling the most common cause of cancer death will be the first inductees into the Duke Graduate School Few-Glasson Alumni Society.

    Grants, Fellowships and Awards
  • Alexei Korennykh
    August 15, 2016

    Associate Professor Alexei Korennykh is a recipient of the Bert L and N Kuggie Vallee Foundation 2016 Young Investigator Award. The Vallee Foundation seeks originality, innovation, and pioneering work by men and women who are dedicated to understanding fundamental biological processes.

    Grants, Fellowships and Awards
  • Ileana Cristea
    August 11, 2016

    Professor Ileana Cristea has been elected as the next President of the American Human Proteome Organization (US-HUPO).

    Grants, Fellowships and Awards
  • Photo of Alexander Ploss in lab.
    June 30, 2016

    Assistant Professor Alexander Ploss was selected as a recipient of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infections Disease (PATH) Award for 2016.

    Grants, Fellowships and Awards
  • Photo of zebrafish skeleton
    June 10, 2016

    A new study in zebrafish suggests that irregular fluid flow through the spinal column brought on by gene mutations is linked to a type of scoliosis that can affect humans during adolescence.

  • Graphic image WWS Reacts
    June 6, 2016

    The Senate voted last week to advance $1.1 billion in emergency funding to help fight the spread of Zika, a mosquito-borne virus that is particularly harmful to pregnant women.

  • Graphic of 2016 Fellowships
    April 28, 2016

    Eight fellowships were awarded to Molecular Biology postdoctoral fellows, Jia Peng, Qiang Ding, Matthew Niepielko, Heath Johnson, Rachel Kadzik, and Angela Mitchell; graduate student, Alexander Goglia; and former postdoctoral fellow, Rumela Chakrabarti. 

    Grants, Fellowships and Awards
  • Image of mosquitoes mating
    April 25, 2016

    Eight new research projects, from novel ways to control mosquitoes to a telescope for studying the Big Bang, have been awarded funding through the Dean for Research Innovation Funds at Princeton University.

  • Photo of Yibin Kang
    April 8, 2016

    Yibin Kang, Princeton University's Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Molecular Biology, is among 16 researchers to be named Komen Scholars by Susan G. Komen, the world's leading breast cancer organization.

    Grants, Fellowships and Awards